A saved penalty, a dropped ball, a lost cup final and a broken heart

Imagine saving a penalty kick in a cup final, but then dropping the ball into the goal while celebrating and having the goal awarded before later losing the shootout. And now imagine that happened to a 13-year-old.

Or instead of imagining it, check out this U-14 Scottish cup final.

Oh, poor kid.

Not only did he concede while celebrating, but his team went on to lose. That’s so cold, sending him from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows.

The Laws of the Game state that a penalty kick is not complete until the referee rules it’s complete, so there’s no arguing that it’s a perfectly legal goal. While the ref could have ruled it dead after the save, seeing as the ball was never possessed by the goalkeeper or even came to a stop, he wasn’t actually obligated to. And as a result, he broke a kid’s heart.

Hopefully that kid got a tub of ice cream and a bunch of cake after the match.


Here’s where you can catch us on TV:

You can also find us on Amazon Fire TV & Stick, Apple TV, Roku, Chromecast, iPhone, iPad, Android Mobile, Android Tablets, Android TV (e.g. Sony Smart TV), PlayStation Vue, Sling TV, Tubi TV, and Flipps.

Want to know what’s on right now? Head over to our show lineup page.



Drug Wars

Thu, Mar 22, 2018 - 11:00 am


Drug Wars


In Living Color

8:00 pm

In Living Color

8:30 pm

In Living Color

9:00 pm

In Living Color

9:30 pm