A saved penalty, a dropped ball, a lost cup final and a broken heart

Imagine saving a penalty kick in a cup final, but then dropping the ball into the goal while celebrating and having the goal awarded before later losing the shootout. And now imagine that happened to a 13-year-old.

Or instead of imagining it, check out this U-14 Scottish cup final.

Oh, poor kid.

Not only did he concede while celebrating, but his team went on to lose. That’s so cold, sending him from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows.

The Laws of the Game state that a penalty kick is not complete until the referee rules it’s complete, so there’s no arguing that it’s a perfectly legal goal. While the ref could have ruled it dead after the save, seeing as the ball was never possessed by the goalkeeper or even came to a stop, he wasn’t actually obligated to. And as a result, he broke a kid’s heart.

Hopefully that kid got a tub of ice cream and a bunch of cake after the match.