Official cops to a blown offside call on Lionel Messi’s goal

Barcelona strolled to a 2-0 win this afternoon in the Catalan derby against Espanyol. The first goal was a beautiful, controversy free team goal finished off by Neymar, after Suárez dummied a ball squared across the six-yard box. Barcelona’s second goal, however, scored by tattoo aficionado Lionel Messi, wasn’t as honorable.

Andrés Iniesta played in the initial probing pass to an offside Suárez. The Uruguayan then found Messi at the back post and Messi, as usual, calmly took care of the rest.

But don’t rely on my words regarding the questionable nature of Messi’s goal; referee Mateu Lahoz reportedly admitted his error at halftime.

Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 10.27.33 AM

According to AS, Lahoz was able to see replay of Barcelona’s second goal during halftime. After the game, he reportedly apologized to Espanyol players for screwing up the call. Although screenshots aren’t perfect, the picture above plausibly confirms Lahoz’s error.

Although Lahoz’s admission doesn’t help anything, apologies do go a long way toward maintaining trust in any relationship. Hopefully, Espanyol won’t make Lahoz sleep on the couch.

WHERE TO WATCH